Home / Sports / Cricket / FAQs: All you need to know about the 2019-21 World Test Championship

FAQs: All you need to know about the 2019-21 World Test Championship

What is that this World Test Championship all about?

The World Test Championship is ICC’s long-awaited league competitors for Test cricket, which will probably be contested over two-year cycles, the first of which begins in 2019.

When will or not it’s performed?

The league part of the inaugural version is scheduled to be performed between July 16, 2019 and March 31, 2021, after which the prime two groups will contest a ultimate.

How many groups will take part?

Nine of the twelve Full Member international locations will contest in 27 sequence throughout the window. The 9 groups are: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

How many sequence will every crew play?

Each crew will play three sequence every at residence and away. Each sequence will comprise a minimal of two and most of 5 Test matches.

How will the finalists be decided?

The prime two groups with the most factors at the finish of the league part will play the ultimate.

When is the ultimate scheduled?

Between June 10-14, 2021.

Where will the ultimate be performed?

The ICC’s chief executives committee has proposed the ultimate for the first two editions of the Test Championship (2021 and 2023) be performed in England, however it’s but to be finalised.

What will occur if the ultimate ends in a draw or is tied?

If that occurs, the crew with the most variety of factors at the finish of the league part will probably be declared the winner.

What about the different Test-playing nations?

Zimbabwe and the two newly-inducted nations, Afghanistan and Ireland, are the three who won’t be a part of the inaugural World Test Championship. They will, nonetheless, play Test sequence as a part of the ICC’s Future Tours Programme, factors from which will probably be thought of for the Test rankings, however not the Championship.

The ICC has mentioned the 9 groups will need to finalise the taking part in schedule by April 30, 2019.

About usman

Check Also

Adrian Birrell named as Hampshire’s new head coach

Adrian Birrell, the previous Ireland and England Under-19 coach, has been named as first-team supervisor …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *